top of page

These Beasts (Cares, Wills, Wants)

Released: 2023

Genre: Sludge, Hardcore

Sounds Like: Unsane, Daughters, Rebreather

Homeland: Chicago

These Beasts

What makes Cares, Wills, Wants elite and sit atop OHMs Peak?

  • These Beasts have melded 90s inspired hardcore with a side of raw sludge

  • The Chicago-based trio deliver eight bruising cuts fueled by emotion and angst

  • Following two impressive EPs; Salvor and Self-Titled, These Beasts continue to build a strong sludgy foundation. Cares, Wills, Wants sees the band further developing their brooding sound

  • The dual vocals of Chris Roo and Todd Fabian are downright filthy with the perfect amount of muffled tone

  • Cares, Wills, Wants never lets up. In fact, the album flows beautifully through streams of Unsane-like hardcore and infectious sludge

  • It's an album that grows stronger with every rotation as it's extremely difficult to select standout moments. We must point out the track Southpaw and its wild percussion starting at the 2:42 mark. Drummer Keith Anderson takes things to another level, it's fucking wild

  • Hats off to Magnetic Eye Records who continue to release quality new heavy albums


Track Listing:

1. Code Name 4:34

2. Cocaine Footprints 5:42

3. Nervous Fingers 4:29

4. Pecking Order 4:25

5. Blind Eyes 5:22

6. Southpaw 4:37

7. Ten Dollars and Zero Effort 4:43

8. Trap Door 7:35


Standout Tracks

A daunting task for an album of this eliteness, but 'Pecking Orders' and 'Trap Door' will win you over with their unfilterd heaviness. 'Pecking Order' is infectious to the core with the intense vocal range and the slight rattlesnake sound at 2:27, a brilliant use of the rattle. 'Trap Door' which runs at 7:15 is all consuming sludge with a pinch of psychedelia.

Album Art

The odd charcoal drawing was enough to lure us in... well done.

Brew pairing for Cares, Wills, Wants

More Galaxy Than All Galaxy IPA from Other Hall Brewing based in Brooklyn, NY. This full bodied and crisp 10.5% Imperial IPA pairs well with this album.


These Beasts are:

Chris Roo - Guitars, Vocals

Todd Fabian - Bass, Vocals

Keith Anderson - Drums

Follow These Beasts: Bandcamp / Facebook


Grab some These Beasts Merch


Related Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
bottom of page